top of page



The following are the current officers of the Sierrans for Responsible Resource Development (the "Sierrans"):


President, Chairperson of the Board - David Watkinson 


David Watkinson is a mining engineer by education and is currently President and CEO of Emergent Metals Corp., President and CEO of Ameriwest Lithium Inc., and a Director of Tarku Resources Inc.  He has over 35 years of professional engineering experience in underground and open pit mine development, including mine permitting, engineering, feasibility, construction, and operations. In addition, he has extensive experience in project management, having taken projects from grass roots start-up to successful operating status. Mr. Watkinson has been responsible for management of large capital projects and operations in Canada, the United States, and the Philippines. He has held progressively senior positions with various companies including Placer Dome Inc., Kinross Gold Corporation, Thyssen Mining Construction and Vulcan Materials Company. Mr. Watkinson holds a B.Sc. in Applied Science, Mining Engineering, from Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario (1985) and is a Registered Professional Engineer in the Province of Ontario.  He resides in Placer County, California.

Vice President - Patricia Nelson

Patricia Nelson has over 10 years of experience as a Registered Environmental Property Assessor serving private industry and utility clients. A team oriented leader, she has successfully planned, directed and performed environmental assessments, prepared permit applications and compliance reports for complex natural resource development and restoration projects.  She has designed and delivered community outreach programs for projects resulting in cost and schedule efficiencies for clients.

Ms. Nelson's regulatory expertise includes: California Environmental Quality Act, (CEQA), National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA), California Surface Mining and Reclamation Act (SMARA), Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA), the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA), the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA), federal Clean Water Act (CWA), Porter Cologne Act, State and federal Endangered Species Act (ESA), California Fish and Game Code, hydroelectric relicensing in accordance with the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC).  She resided in Nevada County, California.

Secretary - Olaf Beck

Olaf Bleck is an Electrical and Systems Engineer and holds the following credentials from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT):  B.S. in Flight Guidance and Control; M.S. in Mechanical Engineering and Controls; and Sloan School of Management training in entrepreneurship, project management and finance.  Mr. Bleck's career has included research and development for a variety of technology based companies including robotics, electric vehicle design, design of laser based cutting machines, intelligent prosthetics design, etc.  Since 2011, he has been engaged in developing scalable mines and mining processes in the Sierra Nevadas and other states. He resided in Nevada County, California.

Treasurer- Christine Daggett

Christine Daggett was an Accounting Technician with the County of Nevada with over 22 years of accounting experience.  She has worked as an office manager and currently works on a part-time accounts payable/ receivable clerk for various companies. She is a Nevada County resident and enjoys outdoor activities such as hunting, fishing, camping, gardening, swimming, etc. 

bottom of page